The anti-resolutions for 2013

Most new year’s resolutions begin by putting goals on our to-do list for the coming year:  exercise more, make healthier food choices, be more patient with Aunt Mildred.  Several recent articles have emphasized the value of setting new year’s goals to take things off the list – focusing on what we won’t do and, at the same time, on how we can simplify our lives.  Particularly good articles include ones on the websites for “Little PINK Book” (http://littlepinkbook.com/little-pink-book/8-things-top-women-wont-do-2013-top-women-profile) and GOOD (http://www.good.is/posts/what-s-your-new-year-s-unresolution).

Earlier this week, I asked the faculty and staff who participated in Southern Polytechnic State University’s 2012 Women’s Leadership Initiative about their “anti-resolutions” and whether they were planning to cross anything off their lists in 2013.  They offered some great responses about what they plan not to do, which are listed below.  If we can all manage to avoid doing these things – imagine how our lives will improve in the coming year!

The anti-resolutions:

  • I will stop multi-tasking. 
  • I will release myself from the “paralysis of analysis” and the tendency to over-think things.
  • I will stop being my own biggest critic.
  • I will not try to handle everything myself.
  • I will stop wasting a full hour at lunch stuffing my mouth.
  • I will not allow the time that I want to save for myself to be scheduled last.
  • I will stop keeping my light from shining in both work and my personal life.
  • I will not waste my food calories by eating junk food.
  • I will stop giving up the time I had set aside to get my work done just because it’s more convenient for someone else to schedule a meeting during that time.
  • I will stop drinking sodas and other drinks filled with sugar.
  • I will spend less money.
  • I will stop being a couch potato — and I will get out and enjoy life!
  • I will stop staying up late, working on miscellaneous things that can wait until the next day.
  • I will not eat a heavy meal and then go to sleep.
  • I will not spend all my time on routine activities.
  • I will stop worrying about the future and try to live in the moment.
  • I will reduce the number of courses I take (in my current graduate program) so that I can give each course my full attention.
  • I will spend less time with people who sap my energy.
  • I will not feel compelled to be connected to my work 24/7.
  • I will stop feeling guilty for doing my work, rather than doing what other people want me to do for them.
  • I will not give up when I come across difficulties, setbacks, or misunderstandings.

Brava, colleagues!  Good luck in not achieving these goals!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

